Kimmo Pohjonen new album Sensitive Skin, release 25.9

Kimmo Pohjonen proudly announces the release of his new album Sensitive Skin on September 25 (October 9 in USA). The album will appear on the Octopus label, subsidiary of Ondine, Finland. Sensitive Skin follows up the highly successful previous release UNIKO with Kronos Quartet and Samuli Kosminen on Ondine.

See the Sensitive Skin promotional video clip here.

Sensitive Skin features nine new Pohjonen compositions that explore dynamic new sonic territory with special guests Tuomas Norvio (electronics), Kronos Quartet (string quartet), Samuli Kosminen (drums, percussion), Timo Kämäräinen (guitar, bouzouki), Sami Kuoppamäki (drums), Inka and Saana Pohjonen (vocals), Arto Järvelä (nyckelharpa), Ismo Alanko (vocals), Lauri Porra (bass) and more. Kronos string arrangements by Timo Alakotila. Sensitive Skin was produced and mixed by James Spectrum, known for productions with Finnish bands Von Hertzen Brothers and Pepe Deluxe.

Kimmo: “This is the first album where I had enough time to plan and record at a comfortable pace and in my own studio, allowing the music to emerge more organically and exactly as I wanted. Additionally, the vocal contributions by my daughters Inka and Saana were a big influence on the way the music and album were shaped, created and arranged. I am more than satisfied, even thrilled with the results.”

Sensitive Skin CD release concerts will take place in Finland on Sept 29 at Savoy Theatre, Helsinki and Oct 3 at Sellosali, Espoo.

Listen to “Cyclon” on Soundcloud.