Kimmo Pohjonen & DakhaBrakha

Pohjonen and sampling cohort Juuso Hannukainen team up with Ukraninan female vocal trio DakhaBrakha. Pohjonen and DakhaBrakha met in August 2008 at the Creation of Peace festival in Kazan, Tatarstan where the KTU trio and DakhaBrakha were both performing. The attraction between the artists was instant and mutual and discussions began about co-operation. Pohjonen, Hannukainen and DakhaBrakha finally realized their vision at Helsinki Festival and Gogol Fest (Kiev) 2010. Additional appearances at Nordwind Fest, Berlin 2010 and WOMAD, UK 2012. The program features separate sets by both artists climaxed by the collaboration of six musicians and collectively composed, arranged and performed music.

Kimmo Pohjonen – accordion, voice
Juuso Hannukainen – samples
Iryna Kovalenko – vocals, djembe, bass drums, accordion, percussion, bugay, zgyleyka
Olena Tsybulska – vocals, bass drums, percussion, garmoshka
Nina Garenetska – vocals, cello, bass drum
Marko Halanevych – vocals, darbuka, tabla, didjeridoo, accordion, trombone